What is the Means Test?

Chapter 7 bankruptcy can only be filed by individuals who pass the qualifying means test. This test was established by the United States Congress in 2005 and is designed to keep out individuals who may have the resources to repay their debts under the repayment plan. In order to pass the means test, you must demonstrate that you cannot afford to repay your debt.  The means test compares your income to the median income of the same household size in your county. If your income is lower than the median income, you pass the means test. With that said, we are able to qualify many of our clients whose income is higher than the median income. There are many allowed expenses, and exceptions that the attorneys at Bandari Law Group utilize every day.


Fill out the form below to recieve a free and confidential intial consultation.

(714) 248-7441

Personal Injury
Car Accidents
Dog Bites
Slip and Falls
Uber/Lyft accidents
Medical Malpractice
Wrongful Death